General Assembly

The General Assembly is the main legislative body of GPSC. It is made up of representatives from every department and program across Duke University, with one representative per 100 students rounded. Representatives are appointed by each department or program individually. The General Assembly meets roughly every two weeks to discuss GPSC business, voice concerns, and listen to presentations from University administrators. All meetings are advertised in the GPSCNews and all graduate and professional students are welcome to attend GA meetings.

Meeting minutes, taken by the GPSC Executive Secretary, are posted later on the website and circulated to representatives prior to the next meeting for approval. If you are interested in bringing an item of business or presentation to the General Assembly, please contact the GPSC Vice President at least five days in advance of meetings.

To learn about GPSC General Assembly parliamentary procedure, please click here (pdf).

To learn more about GPSC General Assembly, please visit here for GPSC By-laws Article IV.

Please click here for the GA handbook.

Meetings

All GPSC meetings meet at 6:30pm unless otherwise noted. Refreshments will be served about 15min prior to the meetings outside of the room. Meetings last for about 2 hours.

Fall Semester 2017

Spring Semester 2018

August 29
September 12
September 26
October 17
October 31
November 14
January 23
February 13
February 27
March 20
April 3 (tentative)

 

2017-18 General Assembly Representatives

Program GA Member 2017-2018 GA Member Email
Art, Art History & Visual Studies, PhD (AAHVS) (4 co-reps) Elizabeth A. Brown elizabeth.a.brown1@duke.edu
Art, Art History & Visual Studies, PhD (4 co-reps) Karlee Begendorff karlee.bergendorff@duke.edu,
Art, Art History & Visual Studies, PhD (4 co-reps) Robin Klaus robin.klaus@duke.edu
Art, Art History & Visual Studies, PhD (4 co-reps) Soo Yoon soohyun.yoon@duke.edu.
Biochemistry, PhD Jennifer (Jie) Cheng jie.cheng@duke.edu
Bioethics & Science Policy, Masters Jamal Moss jamal.moss@duke.edu
Biology, PhD Emily Ury emily.ury@duke.edu
Biomedical Science, Masters Alexis Domeracki alexis.domeracki@duke.edu
Biomedical Engineering, PhD (Rep 1) Jacqueline Robinson-Hamm jacqueline.robinson.hamm@duke.edu
Biomedical Engineering, PhD (Rep 2) (Co-Reps) Bradley (Brad) Feiger bsf9@duke.edu
Biomedical Engineering, PhD (Rep 2) (Co-Reps) Brian Crouch brian.crouch@duke.edu
Biostatistics, MS Tyler Erickson  tyler.erickson@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Julian Gordon julian.gordon@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Jeanette Carneglia jeanette.carneglia@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Alex Cagan alexandra.cagan@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Eric Lubben eric.lubben@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Michael Prettyman michael.prettyman@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Emily Carsch emily.carsch@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Hal Melia hal.malia@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) Kevin Walton kevin.walton@duke.edu
Business Administration, Masters (MBAA) (Proxy/Alternate) Jeff Wireko jeffrey.wireko@duke.edu
Cell & Molecular Biology, PhD (CMB) (Co-Rep) Nicole Stantial nicole.stantial@duke.edu
Cell & Molecular Biology, PhD (CMB) (Co-Rep) Hannah McMillan hannah.mcmillan@duke.edu
Cell Biology, PhD Abby Leinroth abigail.leingroth@duke.edu
Chemistry, PhD (Rep 1) Felix Nwogbo felix.nwogbo@duke.edu
Chemistry, PhD (Rep 2) Steven Conklin steven.conklin@duke.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering, PhD (CEE) (Co-Reps) William (Billy) Gerhard william.gerhard@duke.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering, PhD (CEE) (Co-Reps) Karoline Johnson karoline.johnson@duke
Classical Studies, PhD Tori Lee tori.lee@duke.edu
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics (CBB), PhD Xue (Scarlett) Zou xue.zou@duke.edu
Developmental & Stem Cell Biology, PhD Abdull Massri abdull.massri@duke.edu
Divinity, Theological Studies, Masters (MTS) (Rep 1) Carie Dupree: Junior, Master of Theological Studies patricia.dupree@duke.edu
Divinity, Masters (MDiv) (Rep 4) Julian Mercer: Middler, Master of Divinity julian.mercer@duke.edu
Earth & Ocean Sciences, PhD Jessie Yang xy77@duke.edu
Ecology, PhD Ryan Huang ryan.huang@duke.edu
Economics, PhD Luke Fesko luke.fesko@duke.edu
Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE), PhD Ben Lariviere benjamin.lariviere@duke.edu
Electrical & Computer Engineering, Masters Jeff Lasser jeff.lasser@duke.edu
Engineering, Masters (MEng) Hannah Grossman heg9@duke.edu
Engineering Management, Masters (MEM) Adarsh Abhinav adarsh.abhinav@duke.edu
Engineering Management, Masters (MEM) Nate Kiszla nathaniel.kiszla@duke.edu
Engineering Management, Masters (MEM) Subhan Mansoor subhan.mansoor@duke.edu
English, PhD Carolin Benack carolin.benack@duke.edu
Environmental Policy, PhD (University Program in.., UPEP) Bobby Harris bobby.harris@duke.edu
Genetics & Genomics, PhD Crystal Kennedy crystal.kennedy@duke.edu
Global Health, Masters (Co-Rep) Dilani Logan dilani.logan@duke.edu
Global Health, Masters (Co-Rep) Hailey Diaz hailey.diaz@duke.edu
Immunology, PhD (Co-Rep) Anthony Monroe anm43@duke.edu
Immunology, PhD (Co-Rep) Europe Doan ebd10@duke.edu
Integrated Toxicology & Environmental Health, PhD Risa Gearhart larisa.gearhart@duke.edu
International Development Policy, Masters (MIDP) Rana Awadalla rta10@duke.edu
Law, JD (Rep 1) Daniel Marcus daniel.marcus@lawnet.duke.edu
Law, JD (Rep 3) Ryan Martin ryan.martin2@lawnet.duke.edu
Law, JD (Rep 4) Ryan Arredondo ryan.arredondo@lawnet.duke.edu
Law, Masters (LLM) Charlotte Robin charlotte.robin@lawnet.duke.edu
Liberal Studies, Masters (Co-Reps) Danielle (Dani) Gehle dlg31@duke.edu
Liberal Studies, Masters (Co-Reps) Kathryn Daily Kathryn.daily@duke.edu
Marine Science & Conservation, PhD (Co-Rep) Julia Bingham julia.bingham@duke.edu
Marine Science & Conservation, PhD (Co-Rep) Patrick Gray patrick.c.gray@duke.edu
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, PhD (MEMS) Amy King amy.king@duke.edu
Medical Physics, MS (Co-Rep) Ryan Pappafotis ryan.pappafotis@duke.edu
Medical Physics, MS (Co-Rep) Taylor Smith taylor.smith@duke.edu
Medical Scientist Training Program, PhD Matthew Draelos draelosmm@gmail.com
Medicine (Rep 1) Mahsa Taskindoust mahsa.taskindoust@duke.edu
Medicine (Rep 2) Brahma Natarajan brahma.natarajan@duke.edu
Medicine (Rep 3) Alexander Roesler asr35@duke.edu
Molecular Genetics & Microbiology, PhD Jared Brewer jared.brewer@duke.edu
Music, PhD Maxwell Ramage maxwell.ramage@duke.edu
Nicholas School, Masters of Environmental Management (Rep 1) Jason Lee yong-woo.lee@duke.edu
Nicholas School, Masters of Environmental Management (Rep 2) Soli Shin soli.shin@duke.edu
Nicholas School, Masters of Environmental Management (Rep 3) Regan Fink regan.fink@duke.edu
Nicholas School, Masters of Environmental Management (Rep 4) Reed Perry reed.perry@duke.edu
Neurobiology, PhD Marios Tringides ml45@duke.edu
Nursing, ABSN (Rep 1) Young Tae Lee Young.Tae.Lee@duke.edu
Nursing, ABSN (Rep 2) Anna Fritz anna.fritz@duke.edu
Nursing, PhD Robyn Wojeck robyn.wojeck@duke.edu
Pathologists’ Assistant (Co-Reps) Robert Bauer robert.bauer@duke.edu
Pathologists’ Assistant (Co-Reps) Tyler Clement trc29@duke.edu
Pathology, PhD (Co Reps) Yulei Tao yulei.tao@duke.edu
Pathology, PhD (Co Reps) Byron Hayes byron.hayes@duke.edu
Pharmacology & Cancer Biology, PhD (Co-Rep) Madeline Sell madeline.sell@duke.edu
Pharmacology & Cancer Biology, PhD (Co-Rep) Emma Dolan emma.dolan@duke.edu
Philosophy, PhD Ewan Kingston ewan.kingston@duke.edu
Physical Therapy, DPT (Rep 1) Andrew Batchelder andrew.batchelder@duke.edu
Physical Therapy, DPT (Rep 2) Benjamin Ramger benjamin.ramger@duke.edu
Physical Therapy, DPT (Rep 3) Rebecca Arndt rebecca.k.arndt@duke.edu
Physician Assistant, PA (Rep 1) Deanna Matthew deanna.matthew@duke.edu
Physician Assistant, PA (Rep 2) Erin Shiue erin.shiue@duke.edu
Physics, PhD Emily Phillips Longley emily.phillips.longley@duke.edu
Political Science, PhD (Co-Reps) Fall 2017 Utku Cansu utku.cansu@duke.edu
Political Science, PhD (Co-Reps) Spring 2018 Stefan Martinez-Ruiz ssm771@duke.edu
Psychology & Neuroscience (P&N), PhD Sara Maurer sara.maurer@duke.edu
Public Policy Studies, PhD Marwa K. Al-Fakhri m.alfakhri@duke.edu
Public Policy, MPP Augstin Gonzalez agustin.gonzalez@duke.edu
Public Policy, MPP Meg Fee meghan.fee@duke.edu
Religious Studies, PhD Darryl Hunter darryl.hunter@duke.edu
Romance Studies, PhD (Co-Rep) Elia Romera er141@duke.edu
Romance Studies (Co-Rep) Cristina Carnemolla cristina.carnemolla@duke.edu
Sociology, PhD (Co-Rep) Susan Jacobs susan.jacobs@duke.edu
Sociology, PhD (Co-Rep) Rayden Kaplan rayden.s.kaplan@duke.edu
Statistical & Economic Modeling, Masters (MSEM) Eden Huang hh163@duke.edu